Who Supports Carbon Taxes?

Who Supports Carbon Taxes?

On December 9, 2016, following a First Minister’s meeting, Liberal Prime Minister Justin Trudeau revealed a Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change. This was Justin Trudeau’s attempt at coercing the provinces to impose carbon taxes.

The mandating of carbon taxes is the result of Prime Minister Trudeau committing Canada to be a signatory to the Paris Agreement – the executive agreement of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change whereby nations have signed on to reach “global peaking of greenhouse gas emissions as soon as possible”. 

The Paris Agreement has been described as an incentive for and driver of fossil fuel divestment and while it does not mandate countries to reach targeted reductions in greenhouse gas emissions within specified time frames, it does request that signatory countries introduce carbon pricing by 2020.

In contrast to this, President Donald Trump promised in January of 2017 that the United States will be withdrawing from the Paris Agreement. 

Unfortunately, the current state of politics in Canada means most provinces have gone along with Justin Trudeau’s plans or have provided little push back.  Fortunately for Saskatchewan taxpayers (and unfortunately for the rest of Canadian taxpayers) only Premier Brad Wall has opposed Justin Trudeau’s initiatives in order to prevent Saskatchewan from adopting carbon taxes. 

The table below provides an overview of which politicians are in favour and which are opposed to carbon taxes. 

In favour of a Carbon Pricing Unknown Against all forms of Carbon Pricing including a "Classic" Carbon Tax, and "Cap and Trade" Carbon Tax
"Classic" Carbon Tax (Direct) "Cap and Trade" Carbon Tax (Indirect)

Justin Trudeau, Liberal Prime Minister of Canada

Patrick Brown, Ontario PC Party Leader

Rachel Notley, NDP Premier of Alberta

Michael Chong, Conservative Party of Canada Leadership Candidate

Christy Clark, Liberal Premier of BC

Stephane Dion, Former Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada

Kathleen Wynne, Liberal Premier of Ontario 

Philippe Couillard, Liberal Premier of Quebec 

Brian Pallister, PC Premier of Manitoba 

Ontario PC Party MPPs

Brad Wall, Premier of Saskatchewan

Brian Jean, Leader of the Wildrose Party, Official Opposition in Alberta

Jason Kenney, Alberta PC Party Leadership Candidate

Paul Davis, Leader of the Newfoundland and Labrador PC Party

Jaimie Baillie, Leader of the Nova Scotia PC Party

Jaime Fox, Leader of the Prince Edward Island PC Party

Blaine Higgs, Leader of the New Brunswick PC Party

Conservative Party of Canada Leadership Candidates (click here to see quotes from all the candidates on the issue):

Chris Alexander

Maxime Bernier

Steven Blaney

Kellie Leitch

Pierre Lemieux

Kevin O’Leary

Lisa Raitt

Andrew Scheer

Erin O’Toole

Brad Trost